New Community Radio Station for Nairobi’s Kibera Slums

Posted on 19 August 2007. Filed under: Development |

The Daily Nation reported that the Communications Commission of Kenya (CCK) has granted Pamoja 99.9 FM a broadcasting license in the Kibera Slums. The new Radio station, formed by Pamoja Development Centre situated in Kibera’s Ayany Estate, aims to focus on issues that bear directly on its millions of listeners in the Kibera slums; ie. environment, women’s rights, drug abuse and community awareness, among others.

Although Pamoja FM is not the first of its kind in the country, anyone working for the attainment of the MDGs welcomes this development. Radio is acknowledged as the most widespread electronic communications device in the world and a unique means of reaching the world’s poorest communities. It means that community radio stations like Pamoja FM puts the tools of communications into the hands of poverty striken communities and enables them to express their culture, receive entertainment, news and information as well as engage in dialogue and development.

 

According to the World Association of Community Radio Broadcasters (AMARC) -an international non-governmental organization serving the community radio movement, with almost 3 000 members and associates in 110 countries including Kenya – community radio is a strong medium for economic development and free speech. It is a powerful tool than can raise public awareness on health, the environment and a range of local issues. The AMARC Africa affiliate has a social agenda philosophy with a strong focus on poverty alleviation, conflict resolution, HIV/Aids, gender empowerment, human rights and democracy.

Community radio is definitely an inexpensive medium that the Government of Kenya through the CCK may want to promote by offering subsidized FM airwave licences and discounted annual fees to registered NGOs, churches, schools and other public institutions with a view to propagating its policies including increasing awareness of critical issues like civic education, HIV/Aids and environmental conservation.

UNESCO, in its community radio handbook, praises broadcasting legislation in South Africa as an exemplary case in Africa. The legislation in question was enacted soon after the dismantling of the apartheid regime in 1993, because the Mandela led government realised that the country’s media could help to resolve many socio-economic development problems while building a unified, democratic and pluralistic society by promoting, amongst others, the development of community broadcasting services.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

22 Responses to “New Community Radio Station for Nairobi’s Kibera Slums”

RSS Feed for Kenya Environmental & Political News Weblog Comments RSS Feed

I rely like this station and i hope they will expand with time to reach the rest of the country. I listen the gospel program on sundays morning by Purity and irely like it. Keep it up.

As a Kenyan living in the UK it is good to hear
current news about the country which is
positive. In another article I heard that
Pamoja FM was a neutral self-cencored radio
station which focused on peace and togetherness
buy playing music and showchasing the
achievements in Kibera.

Is it available online and do you have a
website?

HARAMBEE!!! Keep up the good work.

Hi Management,
Keep up the good work. I would like to work for
you even for free. I did communication at DAYSTAR
UNIVERSITY. I can chip in for advise and how to
improve listenership in Kibera slum. Please let me
know if it possible. I can also be sending you news
news, functions to cover,etc Let’s improve the
radio programming and shows.
I am talented in broadcast journalism. Let me have yopur c
contacts for more information.
HENRY

Henry,

I would suggest you visit Kibera’s Ayany Estate (grab a number 32 matatu from Railways) and it will drop you at the terminus which is at the entrance to the estate. Ask anyone, or look at the tallest building in that estate, this is where the station is located. I am sure they will welcome you with open arms. Thanks for visitng and let us know how it goes.

I am a second year diploma mass communication student at star media institute.
I am interested in a position of a radio presenter in your radio station, i can be able to provide the best of my services free of charge daily from 6pm to any time you would prefer and the whole of my weekends. I would be happy to have a one on one discussion with you while showing you my potentials. You can reach me through 0724953441 or the email address below. Looking forward to hear from you soon.
Your sincerely Willie Kimani.

keep up pamoja!LOVE THE IDEA OF A Radio station
for the community.i could do newsreading 4 the
station 4 free.am a lady with the voice for ua
audience.thanx in advance

I am a diploma holder in mass communication,and redy to work for you as new reopter and even co-present at night hours for my volunteer virtue.I like the way Pamoja drive human interest news and help audience believe in your stories.I humbly anticipate to hera from your,and I am in a position to face the challenges that might be and be available for any further activities done to help change the life of youths and even old persons believe in change that be would preach.
Am looking forward fro your response,here is my no.0722147365,japheth.gordon@gmail.com

Am interested in news reporting and co-presenting to make our young listen within the entire Kibera slum and its environs change with the guarantee you would offer me in the station to do my volunteer work as one who believe in change,looking for further outcome

I am a diploma holder in mass com and i would like to request for a chance in the news department as atrainee or volunteer.Please contact me contact me on this number.0726665206 or e;mail. sijuma50@yahoo.com

Hi pamoja fm! I”m a mass communication diploma
holder and willing to offer my services for fre
e for the benefit of the community at kibera and its env
iron. Please contact me on: amisizech@yahoo.com

Bravo Pamoja FM crew for your information delivery to the society.Truly you gave me alot of time to prove my career during my internship period at your station.With your kindness i know the country will produce more qualified and well trained journalists.I am proud of you.I see forward working with you again.
From OKUMU RODGERS ESHITEMI (MASINDE MULIRO UNI.)

It’s great to hear that the Government of Kenya found an inexpensive medium to promote the FM airwave, and give discounted fees to those public institutions in order to give informative awareness on health and environmental issues.

I like the good progress. Now i am a continuing student of broadcast journalism at East Africa School of Journalism and i am interested in working in a media station one day. I would like to kindly ask whetther my free services of reporting and news reading can be of any help to you and to me too. I would like to improve on my skills at your station on the hands of your staff. Please let me know wherei can drop my audio demo to prove this. I promise to uphold all the media law and ethics during my time there as i advance my skills. All this will be for free. Contact me via 0710 76 56 34

I am Timothy Kipruto i did my first internship at pamoja did sports news. The good news is i learnt alot from there. I am now in kass thanks

i am a fourth year student at masinde muliro university and i would like to thank pamoja fm mngt for allowing me to carry out my attachment there. i really learnt alot and thanks. i suggest you open a web page where we can be sending you news from wherever we are and it will be wonderful. long live pamoja fm.

I want to start a Community Radio in Dandora in Nairobi.Please advise

I really want to establish a community radion through a youth group I chair but dont know where to start from, especially the funds. CAn get me some ideas?

Hi pamoja radio,i like what ure doing 2 the community around u.Am adiploma holder in journalism n mass communication n i would like 2 work with u as a presenter volunterily for the benefit of the society.If possible link me via 0729884325 n continue with the good work ure exercsing to the society

could this type of community radiio be offending public morality?

Thanks good work done.

You have a great website here,I will start following.Please take a look at my website,I have a great article about the last king of Rwanda in Africa,I’m trying to inform people of this matter because his presence in the area would bring peace to the great lake region in central Africa.Thanks


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    A blog created to cover environmental and political information in Kenya with a view to promoting POVERTY ALLEVIATION through creating awareness of the Millennium Development Goals

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

