KENYA: 2009 Census Plans On Track Despite Displacement

Posted on 20 March 2008. Filed under: Governance, Government, MDGs |


Photo: Allan Gichigi/IRIN
The census will cover the displaced wherever they will be

NAIROBI, 19 March 2008 (IRIN) – The political crisis in Kenya caused major population movements that may require a repeat of cartographic mapping in some areas before the 2009 census, but plans for the official count are on track, a government official told IRIN.

“We are revising our work plan and looking at areas where we might have to repeat cartographic mapping but we expect to hold the census on 25 August 2009 as planned,” said Chris Omolo, the census manager and principal economist at the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics (KNBS).

“We expect to be through with cartographic mapping countrywide by March 2009, May at the latest.”

With the support of the UN Population Fund (UNFPA) and other stakeholders, the development of all instruments for the exercise – manuals, questionnaires, etc – is expected to be ready in time.

Kemal Mustafa, UNFPA representative in Kenya, said early preparation was crucial. “Logistical mobilisation will not be easy as we head up to the census,” Mustafa said. “Lack of census data slows down the process through which the government can plan for the numbers of people requiring services.”

The January-February post-election violence had affected settlement patterns in parts of the country, Omolo said, but the statistics bureau had yet to assess the extent of this disruption.

“We expect things to go back to normal as we are now seeing many of those who had been displaced returning home,” he said. If, by August 2009, there were still internally displaced persons in the country, then “they will be counted wherever they will be”.

Nyanza, Rift Valley and Western provinces bore the brunt of the crisis.

''Though we have lost some time because of the crisis, we still expect to conduct the census on time; it all depends on how things settle in the next few months''

“When the violence erupted, cartographic mapping had been done in Nyanza, Western and parts of Rift Valley, excluding Uasin Gishu and Trans Nzoia districts, where we had just undertaken sensitisation ahead of the mapping,” Omolo said. “There are a few areas we may have to go back to and repeat the mapping. We have suspended mapping in some areas where there was massive population movement.”

The bureau, he added, was currently focusing on areas least affected by the violence, such as Eastern and Central provinces, where cartographic mapping was ongoing.

“Though we have lost some time because of the crisis, we still expect to conduct the census on time; it all depends on how things settle in the next few months,” Omolo said. “We base the census on the people’s places of abode and come the census night, we will consider all households wherever they will be.”

Given that the post-election crisis later took on ethnic dimensions, Omolo said, the bureau was treating the issue of formulating questions aimed at establishing ethnicity “very seriously”.

During the census in 1989 and in 1999, respondents were asked their ethnic backgrounds. But whereas the data regarding ethnicity was made public after the 1989 census, the findings for the 1999 census were not, due to the “sensitivity” of the issue.

The process of formulating the questionnaire for the 2009 census is under way, Omolo said, adding that it took into account compatibility with international standards and past practice.

Zipporah Gathiti, UNFPA monitoring and evaluation officer, said the agency was supporting KNBS in the development of an advocacy strategy, through the establishment of publicity teams that would be sent out on sensitisation campaigns ahead of the census.

The agency was also assisting KNBS in its development of an internet-based software system, the Integrated Multi-sectoral Information System (IMIS), which would eventually make census data available to the public.

Data from the 1989 and 1999 census had been uploaded to IMIS, she said. “A population census is the most comprehensive data collection you can have,” Gathiti said.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

243 Responses to “KENYA: 2009 Census Plans On Track Despite Displacement”

RSS Feed for Kenya Environmental & Political News Weblog Comments RSS Feed

I am a student at Nairobi Evagelical Graduate School of Theology. I believe my skills/ studies of research methods can help in the forthcoming sensus. How can I be involved?

first you should know how to spell the word census

Simon, contact KNBS through the link above.

Thanks for stopping by

It is a good thing for the Gorv’to organize for the census at this early,times.with the country’s political situations,Financial quagmires and other troubles facing us.it is good to know exactly the population of our country.This also will be one of the mile stone step towards realization of the VISION 2030.

As a devoted Kenyan and in my capacity,I would love to take part in this important event.No matter how small my participation might be.How can I be Involved?

I am a student at planning student at the Univesity of Nairobi. I appreciate the fact that a census is most important for state planning, update population and demograghics of the country, resource allocation,
keep up the preparations.

I wish to be considered to take part in this activity.
I’ll be pleased if you advise me accordingly. Thank you.

i am a ku student wishing to be part of the sensus.what do i need to do

am university student interested in taing part in the census could you please send me more information on where to apply

Hello,i’m a student at Egerton university,with remarkable research and interpersonal skills.It would b an honour to employ my skills in this years census,how can i do so?

i asked for feedback still waiting

Am a ku student and am confident my expertise can be of great significance in the exercise.Could you please send me more information on the matter.I will be grateful.thank you

I am a finalist student at KENYATTA UNIVERSITY.
I believe my skils in research,data collection
and analysis can be of help in the 2009 sensus.
kindy inform me on how I can be actively
involved.

Hi Mr.Wangila, kindly consult me on this e-mail for more information about the computerised census: jemosh30@gmail.com

I am a student at MULTIMIDIA UNIVERSITY pertaking a course of Bcs (Hons)in Computing and Information Tenchonoly, as i had from the minister concern that the Government will perform a computerized census, i would like to be involved in the activity since i know little about computer technology.Thank you.

am a univesity student and i really would like to take part in the 2009 census that would take place. how can be involved or where should i apply? am eagerly waiting for reply. thanks in advance.
yours,
Rodgers rhota
ID no. 25503026

It’s a good thing that the goverment implemented census.During this time when many kenyans were displaced.I would like to devote myself in the process,how can i apply?please inform.Thanks in advance.

Im Ken Mwasambu can you pliz direct me where will I get hooked up with dat job of counting kenyans?

i am a very patriotic and devoted university of nairobi kenyan who believes and trusts that my skills will indeed be usefull during this years census.please help.

I am a student at KISUMU Poly and would like to
take part in the 2009 population census.How do i go
about it?
ID No.25352370.

inform us in time so that we can make the application online.

I appreciate your efforts.Kindly,involve university students in this exercise so that they can share their little knowledge with the community particularly on vision 2030,HIV/AIDS,family planning among other issues.I can be reached on +254722501740,or at KENYATTA UNIVERSITY,NYAYO 4 ROOM 173,P.O BOX 43844-00100 NAIROBI.Thanks.

I appreciate your efforts.Kindly,involve university students in this exercise so that they can share their little knowledge with the community particularly on vision 2030,HIV/AIDS,family planning among other issues.I can be reached on +254722501740,or at KENYATTA UNIVERSITY,NYAYO 4 ROOM 173,P.O BOX 43844-00100 NAIROBI.Thanks.

The post election displacement cannot hinder
the 2009 census because as per my view the Government can put mechanisms in place to ensure that everybodyb nis counted all over Kenya including the small village where Obamas father was born.The Government needs to come up with the most recent these relevant statistics.

Iam a finalist student in the school Pure & Applied Sciences at Kenyatta University pursuing BSC.Mathematics (Statistics Major). I dearly appreciate your efforts in making census 2009 become successful. I’ve worked before (July-Sept.2008) in your reputable organization while on attachment in Agriculture Section and i can say your work provides direction for Kenya and reference for the World.I believe my skills in sample surveys & Design, Operations Research,Design & Analysis Experiments can be of help in the 2009 sensus.Kindy inform me on how I can be actively involved.

I am a finalist undergratude stundent in the school of Pure & Applied Sciences at Kenyatta University pursuing a course in B.SC Mathematics (Statistics Major).I’ve worked before for Kenya National Bureau of Statistics during my attachment in July – Sept. 2008 at Agriculture Section. I believe my skils in Sample Survey Analysis, Operations research can be of help in the 2009 sensus.Kindy inform me on how I can be actively involved.

i would like to take part in the 2009 census that would take place. how can i join the team.advise me accordingly

i just want to take part in the activity of counting.can i apply the job online?,and what are the requirements?
please advice me.

I’m a first year student at the university of Nairobi and I would like to take part in the upcoming cencus I beleive i have what it takes to conduct this activity because i have conducted other related counting activities before

I’m a first year student at the university of Nairobi and I would like to take part in the upcoming cencus I beleive i have what it takes to conduct this activity because i have conducted other related counting activities before

im a student in kisumu poly and i work as avolunteer in st. clare orphanage home. i would like to take part in this year’s program. is it posible? and how can i get involed?

im a student in kisumu poly and work as a voluteer in st. clare orphanage i would like to take part in this year’s program how can i get involved?

I am RAYMOND KABABA from KENYATTA UNIVERSITY.Iwould be highly honoured to take part in 2009 census.It would be a great step towards achieving vision 2030 for our lovely KENYA ID NO.254383254

i am interested in participating in this year exercise on cencus.how can you employ my skills from pleminaries stage to final stage of data collection and organisation.am a graduate of maseno university in mathematics and economics

am a kenyatta university student taking bsc.mathematics,statistics option and i wish to be part of this very important activity please advice on the process

The exercise should involve University students who will be educating the society about vision 2030.

What happened?We are not hearing any thing about census even in the media.We really want to apply for consideration.

Thank you all for your comments.

The NATIONAL CENSUS STEERING COMMITTEE has already been launched by the government of Kenya, and the ministry handling this falls under office of the Prime MInister. You can direct your enquiries to the PS at the following address:

The Permanent Secretary
MINISTRY OF STATE FOR NATIONAL DEVELOPMENT & VISION 2030
Treasury Building 10th Floor
Harambee Avenue
P.O BOX 3005, Nairobi, Kenya
Telephone:(+254) 020-252299
Fax: (254)020218475

Am Robn frm Egertom (BCOM student)l to take part in the exersice.Please can you inform me how to do it.i’ll appreciate.

Good evenning, i have adiploma in Information
Technology. Iam interested in applying for Data
Entry person in this institution so as i can test
my ability with what i learned in class with the
sorroundind environment. Please how can i submit my
C.V and other documents. I’ld also like to know
the address.
Thanks.

Hi, I wuold like to know the full address of
The Kenya National Census and the one of Both
Kakamega North and South Districts.
And give direction on how to apply with specifically
the requirements.

This is a recommendable fixture

my name is moses bett i want to thank you for all the har work you are doing.
a would like to be part of the census. please consider my proposal
thank you
and keep it up with your hard work.

Hello,am a finalist student at Moi University. I clearly understand how important the census data is to the general planning of the economy. I also understand that 2009 census is dedicated to turning challenges into opportunities,this is the type of work where am confident my skills and knowledge would be best suited. How do i participate in this? Thanks.

I am an experienced in data entry having participated in many data entry projects. I would be glad to be incolved in the entry of the census database.

I am experienced in data entry having been involved in various projects. I would be glad to participate in compilation of the census database.

Hey i would like to know what positions are open forapplication in this year’s census and the necessary qualifications.

how are you selcting individuals to assist in countng section am interested with the job.

in matters of cencus i feel its good to adopt a computerized /computer literate people who can be able to collect data from the field present it in a computer system for easier analysis and entry during the compilation process.am a student at jkuat:Business Information Technology student with a wide variety of skills in this.

in matters of cencus i feel its good to adopt a computerized /computer literate people who can be able to collect data from the field present it in a computer system for easier analysis and entry during the compilation process.am a student at jkuat:Business Information Technology student with a wide variety of skills in this.

I am in my final year of study at egerton university and i do understand the essence of census. I would like to be an input in the exercise but do not know where and who to contact. Please help.

Am Collins musyoka from Kenya Polytechnic taking GIS. Can get the chance for attachment?

I would like to know about the census job application as i have cleared from the University of Nairobi

Am a student of The university of Nairobi with excellent skills in research work and would like to be considered for the upcoming census jobs.how do go on application for the job.

am Benjamin Kitonyi Mwau,a 4th yr kenyatta university. my view is that this year’s census should involve majorly univ. students.Especially after the recent displacements knowledgeable persons are required for the exercise.The students are highly recommended for this event.

Im a student at moi university main campus taking geographical studies and very much concerned a2bout your work. I think sensititation wil5l akjso be a nice way foward. Im also interested in joining this years process. Thank you

keep up the appealing work

I am DAVID KIAGE MOBEGI from Kenyatta University
y,I am pursuing a Bachelors degree that entails ssst
statistics alongside other areas like computer programing
programming of which I think could be of great
importance in this year’s(2009) census.I would
appreciate your consideration in serving the
Ministry at the district,provincial or national
level during the exercise.Thanks.

I’m Jecinta Wangeci Munyiri a student at the university of Nairobi.I participated during the pilot census in the year 2008.I would like to apply during the main census how can i apply?

I’m Jecinta Wangeci Munyiri a student at the university of Nairobi.I participated during the pilot census in the year 2008.I would like to apply during the main census how can i apply?

Im a second year Maseno University student taking a Bachelor of Business Administration with IT(information technology).HIV/AIDS courses inclusive and a certified peer councelor from Ndhiwa constituency in the recently formed Ndhiwa District. I request to be granted a chance to actively participate in the census and I believe my participation will be of great significance. My no is 0715127194.Thak you in advance.

I am student doing sociology at Kenyatta university was inquiring if i could be of any help on the forthcoming census

would they require a computerized sysyem to perform the census? am a student currently studying software..

I am Richard Ogallo Were,Aged 25 years,educated and experienced in the field of research and public service having particepated in the electoral process as an polling clerk.i would like to be involved in the forthcoming census process in the country.Assist me as i am willing to mrender my service with dedication,commitment and proffessionalism.thanks in advance.

I am Richard Ogallo Were from kisumu town west constituency (0725103629),Aged 25 years,educated and experienced in the field of research and public service having particepated in the electoral process as an polling clerk.i would like to be involved in the forthcoming census process in the country.Assist me as i am willing to mrender my service with dedication,commitment and proffessionalism.thanks in advance.

I am felix mugo nthiga,university graduate and experienced in the field of research.i would like to particepate in the forthcoming census process in the country which is starting on august 25 2009.please assist me.am willing to offer my services with proffessionalism,dedication,commitment and willingly.0724385579.thanks in advance.

Hi All,

I would like to participate in the upcoming census.What’s the procedure?Qualification etc?

I work for a child organisation and we are much inetrested in the well-being of the Kenyan child (0-18years) how can we participate in ensuring that approriate indicators are covered in the census to measure progress towards achiving the MDGs and the Convention on rights of children?

Following the statistical analysis of population of the great kenya, i would request your consideration in the coming cencus. Am a student of maseno university. From machakos

would like to be informed about the census application
so i appply

I would like to be informed about the census application

I would like to be informed about census job applicaation and where to find the forms.Thank you

I am a graduate from the International University of Africa with a BSc in geology and I believe with the knowledge I have I can help in this census so how can be involved?
Thank you.

Actually i’m a graduate but I’m still jobless, so by providing with this census job you would have helped a lot.So please let me know how can I get this job.
Thank you.

I am a KU student taking bachelor of economics and statistics. I am also a member of Research Club and i would like to participate in population census. Please guide me on how to go about it.

selection census officials to be free and fare
benedict simba from Kakamega medical college.

please inform me when recruitment shall start so i appply

Gichure J Njenga

Am a student at university of Nairobi.i would like to know the procedure of how i can apply to take part in the 2009 census.reply via my email address:josphatnjenga@yahoo.com

I hope we youths will be considered and give n this census job and we look forward to do our best.

lets assist restructure our nation,starting with knowing what we have to make a future for every kenyan.let the reason for cencus be positive,not a job only but help allocate resources equally to all kenyans and provide the necessary facilities that can help kenya be economically stable and developed.lets all look forward to participating in the cencus with that notion,
regards,PATRICK,BA ECON,MOI UNIVERSITY

it nice idea to carry out census during this time we are facing economic crisis,it wll havYour Comment
e apositive impact in our economy.am astudent
in KMTC&A resident of kibera i believe i have
skills in research that could be of assistance es
especiallly in ground work.please up date me on when to start applying

in the struggle to achieve the goals set for 2030 we need to plan the available resources effectively and efficiently and the only way to do this is through census. this will help us to know more …dependency ratio etc. lets build kenya we want. MOI UNIVERSITY

Am a kenyatta university student undertaking a Bsc Degree in Public Health with knowledge on population studies and health.I request to be involved in the 2009 cencus exercise due this year.Please help with any relevant information and recruitment.Thanks in advance.

I’m a 19 year old Kenyan and also a student at Institute of Advanced Technology[IAT] Thika Road campus i would like to be one of the enumerators in this years census,hope you will consider me thanks in advance

I’M A FINAL YEAR STUDENT AT THE UNIVERSITY OF NAIROBI PURSUING BSC. IN GEOSPATIAL ENGINEERING. HOPE I WILL BE CONSIDERED FOR THIS EXERCISE. I HAVE KNOWLEDGE IN GIS, CARTOGRAPHY AND MAPPING. I WOULD ALSO LIKE CONGRATULATE U ALL AND I HOPE THE EXERCISE WILL BE SUCCESSFUL.

PLANNING IS ALL ABOUT POPULATION AND RESOURCES THEREFORE AS WE ALL AWAIT 2009 NATIONAL CENSUS LET’S REMEMBER TO ADDRESS ISSUES TO DO WITH PREVENTIVE HEALTH SERVICES COMPREHENSIVELY THIS WILL CUT DOWN ON ENORMOUS RESOURCE ALLOCATION TOWARDS CURATIVE SERVICES AND THUS ENSURE INTERNDEM PROGRAMMES TO ACHIEVING VISION 2030 TARGETS WITH A HEALTHY POPULATION.THIS PROCESS MUST ADDRESS WAYS TO CURB CASES OF INFECTIOUS DISEASES KENYA REQUIRES PROPERLY DEFINED SENTINEL HEALTH PROGRAMMES.
AM A PUBLIC HEALTH EXPERT AND WOULD WISH TO PARTICIPATE IN THIS NOBBLE PROCESS ,LET’S COUNT OUR PEOPLE LET’S PLAN FOR OUR PEOPLE CUDOS KBS FOR THE GOOD WORK GOING ON .CONTACT-0725865454.

Thank you for your progress.I am a graduate with a degree in Bsc. Environmental Health and Experience in Research I would like to actively participate in the process. Please guide me

Hi, am Kennedy Otieno in Nairobi. The census
of 2009 should be an accurate one. This can only be made possible by involving more youth and making everything computerrised in every capacity. How can i get to count people. Please advise.

please give us more information on job application.tiiooti

Am a student at the kenya polytechnic currently pursuing a higher diploma in Human resource management, with a degree in social sciences a major in sociology and a minor in political science. i would like to participate in the forthcoming census as i believe my taking part would be service to the nation and its people.please keep me informed thank you.

Thank you for creating this opportunity for the youth especially in wanting to help in nation building. am a student at the catholic university pursuing a degree in social science and i would like to share my knowledge in taking part in the forthcoming census, please give me a chance to be one of the willing kenyans to participate.Thank you

census is of importance to me.

Am a diploma holder and would really want to take part in this years census program.how do i get involved?

Census is an important activity and therefore should be one of the key activity that brings kenyans together.

am an applied statistics with computing student in moi university.am fully supporting the project.i understand it will give us a chance to practically apply the skills and techniques so far gained in our degree course.plan well and lets meet during the exercise

I want to apply to be a supervisor in this year census what are the requirements? thanks-Joseph

Hi am a student from NAIROBI INSTITUTE OF BUSINESS STUDIES doing Tourism,Travel and Business management. and i would really like to participate in census 2009. how can i apply

i am a 20yr old kenyan lady in moi university.i am in nakuru town in rift valley province and i would love to participate in the 2009 population census. how do i go about the application for the post?

i would like an article to be posted on the website concerning the oncoming 2009 census and the qualification of possible staff to work in the field doing the actual counting

i am a student ta masinde muliro university of science and technology and i believe that the research skills i have acquired from school are very useful and applicable. With the on coming census, how can i be given a chance to play a role as a field agent.

I would wish to participate in 2009 census,how can i apply for this? please assist.

I am kenyan citizen in western kenyan-bungoma north district. I would like to know how can someone secure vacancy in the process of census. I am 20 years old. i will be glad if i will be guided.
thank you
SONY TELEWA

must those applying for a job during this year census come from your home area or you can apply in your resindentia area.then give us advice on how to apply this jobs.

I am a student at makerere university. I believe my skills/ studies of research methods can help in the forthcoming census. How can I apply?

Am a student studying Accounting,and would like tom be part of this noble exercise what it is the procedure being followed to be considered for the exercise.Thank you

Am a student studying Accounting,and would like to be part of this noble exercise what it is the procedure being followed to be considered for the exercise.Thank you

I am an environmentalist dealing with grassroot communities in Central Kenya and would like to participate in the forthcoming population census. How do I go about it. Please advice. Tel: 0720771742

iam a graduate from Egerton University with a bachelors degree in Economics and Sociology.I would want to be involved in this years census actively and in the field.kindly give me the address to apply.
Thank you.

am a fourth year student at the university of nairobi, clearing school on 26.06.09 and i would like to participate in the 2009 census,how can i apply to take part as one of the enumerators?
thanks in advance. 0726-056789.

Let this process include the unemployed youth who have skills to do this job.
inform us on how to apply for this census jobs please

currently i am undergoing an attachment at shavine co. cybercafe at nkubu meru where i serve clients and also act as a parttime tutor.i think hii job ya august census yanifaa census. i promise to adhere to your guidance and work to my level best

i would like to participate in the following august census. I am a lady aged 22 years now working with shavine computer college and high tech. cyber.please advise me on how to apply online.

Am a student of Nairobi University and would like to be advised by you on the procedure to apply for this year’s census job.I believe am sufficiently qualified for this task.

When will you recriut the personnel for the population census 2009.Which position do you
have.

I am in full support and appreciate the government’s effort to conduct a national census.I am a student at Moi university in the school of Business&Economics.I would like to be considered for an job opportunity in this event of national importance.

I would like to participate in the kenya census 2009 of the august this year. consider me in applications. thank you.

contact me through this number for the population cencus 2009 Tel. 0725494230. thank you in advance and looking forward to hear from you.

I am a student at makerere university taking BBAGenerally its a wise move especially during this time we are having IDPS. On a mission towards the achievement of our VISION 2030 taking the exact population statistic is equally important and should be used on the issue of equittable resource distribution- government services should also be based on population rather than geographical extensivenes .And i this hope is part of the launched KKV

It is very impressing to find that kenya is planning way forward for its population, reduce unemployment and use the fresh energetic human resource available to achieve its goals set for vision 2030, I am final year student at the University of Nairobi pursuing Bsc Mathematics,with Data analytical and modelling skills, I wish to be part of census,Advice me on how to get involved, Thanks in advance

I am a twenty-three year old Kenyan at the Universaity of Nairobi and would like to participate in the oncoming national population census as an enumerator.I hail from Siaya District in Nyanza Province.I would therefore highly appreciate if given this noble chance to serve this great country during the excercise.
Thanks in advance.

i would like to work for the KNBS in the 2009 census.i believe my applied research course from strathmore business school will be a valuable skill the exercisehow do i participate?

i am a 20yr old kenyan man in makerere university.i am in kampalain and i would love to participate in the 2009 population census. how can i get the information and how to apply it am really in need to be involved in the countries development, am from teso district

i am kenyan man presently studying at makerere university and am a finalist student. I clearly understand how important the census data is to the general planning of the economy. I also understand that 2009 census is dedicated to turning challenges into opportunities,this is the type of work where am confident my skills and knowledge would be best suited. How do i participate in this? i need to know much as when are application stating, thanks

Am a second year student at The University of Nairobi taking a bachelors degree.I would like to take part in this process so that i can apply the vast knowledge I have acquired to serve my fellow countrymen.could you please vanish me with the necessary information so that I can take part.
yours sincerely,
MUGANDA REDEMPTUS

Iam a student in Kenyatta University and would like to take part during the census activity.i kindly would appreciate your consideration.Thanks in advance.

inform me when tom apply for the job kim ku comp eng

am diploma graduate from Kenya polytechnic and have great skills in research and i will be interested in taking part in the forthcoming census. how can i be involved.please send me more details on how to apply.

I wish to participate in the forthcoming census.
I am B.sc degree holder in Statistics.Experienced
in fieldwork which is definitely valuable in
this exercise.

I am a student at the Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology.Pliz give information on how I can participate in the exercise.

I am a student at the Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology.Please give information on how I can participate in the exercise.

I am proud to be Kenyan.I would like to show my patriotism to the country by taking part in conducting the census data collection.I am student of Kenyatta University.

I am a graduate from egerton University and i would very much like to take part in the upcoming census. My skills in statistics and counting that I have acquired through various activities that I have been involved in could be transfeered here and I believe I will be a great addition to your team. please advise me on the application process.

I am a student in Jomo kenyatta University of Agriculture And Technology who would be greatful if am given an opportunity to take part in the process.

How do i apply for a job to take part in the August 2009 population census

i would like to take part in the census to be conducted on 24 and 25th August,2009.How do i apply,i have bachelors degree in geography.

I would like to take part in the cesus 2009.I am a former maseno university student awaitng graduation later in the year.I’ve experience in research i.e i have worked with research organizations like TRANSPARENCY INTERNATIONAL.I believe i have what it takes.how do i apply?

I would like to take part in the census 2009.I am a former maseno university student awaiting graduation later in the year.I’ve experience in research i.e i have worked with research organizations like TRANSPARENCY INTERNATIONAL.I believe i have what it takes.how do i apply?

AM A STUDENT IN THE UNIVERSITY OF NAIROBI AND WILLING TO ASSIST THE MINISTRY OF PLANING IN THE FORTH COMING POPULATION CENSUS.

I am a student at the University of Nairobi and an IDP from Rift Valley. How can I be involved in the forthcoming census at home?

woul you please inform us of when the applications are to take place and the respective places.otherwise do enjoy yourselves

Am a university of Nairobi student,with developed skills to perform.I wish to be in census exercise and do my best.{Please communicate to me on how to apply

I am Peter Mburu Maina having graduated with a bachelors degree(mathematics and economics) from moi university and i would like to take part in this year census.I believe that deep scrutiny of demographic economics has equipped me with what is required for betterment of conduct of this exercise.Please assist on how to apply.THANKS MUCH IN ADVANCE.
You may contact me via email address :mburu09@yahoo.com.
PHONE;0721-493894

yes make things happen,i mean let it not be just counting head

i would like to participate in the cencus please advice on what to do

Mine is not a comment but question.i am 2nd year student at maseno university studying,Bsc.applied statistics,how can i apply for a position to take part in census counting?
Thank you in advance.

Mapping is a great idea after the post polls violence.am a finalist student at Kenyatta university who would like to help in the exercise, how can i get to reach you.thanks in advance

I am a UoN student and I believe I have enough expertise to do this job. Could you please send me more information?

John osiemo are my names. i am a 1st year
student from kabarak universiity persuing
bbmit.being a kenyan and a partriotic one ifeel
i have the potential to take part in the forth
comming cencus.my contacts are 0711521824,pliz
reaply my note and give a chance to serve kenya

Hi,am a finalist student from Egerton University and a devoted kenyan with remarkable skills and interest in Environment and population.I am also well equiped with data collection skills.How can i participate in the up coming 2009 kenya population census?

Hi, am a finalist from The Kenya Polytechnic University College and a devoted kenyan. I would really love to participate in the up-coming population census set to take place in August.I wish to be considered to take part in this activity.How can i be involved.

I am a student in at the university of Nairbi persuing a degree in Education Arts.I have an intrest of participating in this years census activity,please if you can avail the application procedure.Thanks in advance.

Am a student moi university doing business management.How can i apply to take part in these census

Am a student moi university doing business management.How can i apply to take part in these census exercise?

i wish to apply for 2009 census.where can get
application form,thanks

where r application forms

Good site. keep us updated. I’m interested to take part in population census. how can i apply for the job?

Iam a student at Moi University Iam doing a bsc
in communication and pr which covers research
I wish to be involved in the 2009 census

My contacts are Phone-0727639578

I’m Masiga Benard, final year student of Moi University and want to participate in the Census process.Assist me know the available jobs and available application details.Thanks

I’m a 4th year student at the university of Nairobi and I would like to take part in the upcoming cencus I beleive i have what it takes to conduct this activity because i have conducted other related counting activities before

census should be conducted but I request the Kenya National Bureau of Statistics to avoid making ethnicity backgrounds public

I am 23 years old and currently i am pursuing a Diploma in Information Technology(2nd year) at The Kenya Polytechnic.I would like to take part in the population census due to take place in August.How can i be involved?

I am a Pwani University college student and wishing to take part in this year’s census how do I get involved?

I am Peter Omondi CPA student in KCA KISUMU currently in section four idealy its good to know what the effect of post election caused to the population distrbution in the country how i wish the goverment take concern of this data we are yanning for.i would want to help my village and district to give the best data free from error should this be posible mail me in liooluoch@yahoo.co.uk or call me on 0773327702 RACHUONYO DISTRICT OYUGIS DIVISION

hello. i am a 3rd year student at masinde muliro university taking disaster preparedness and environmental technology. i would like to indulge my expertise and skills in the forthcoming cencus. how can i apply

it can be better if youths are granted the first
chances in running the exercise.

am a student at st.marks teachers college and am
wishing 2be involved in the census thi august.
How will i go through?

what are the necessities for the application n when is process starting student in JKUAT

I’M A FINAL YEAR STUDENT AT THE UNIVERSITY OF NAIROBI PURSUING BSC. IN GEOSPATIAL ENGINEERING.I HAVE KNOWLEDGE IN GIS, CARTOGRAPHY AND CADASTRAL SURVEYING AND HOPE TO BE CONSIDERED FOR THIS EXERCISE.CONGRATS FOR YOUR PROGRESS!

I am a finalist undergraduate Statistician Kenyatta University pursuing a course in B.SC (Statistics). Kindly consider the youth in the upcoming Kenya census. Proud Kenyan

i am astudent at kenya collage of accountancy
kismu campus under taking a course in diploma
in business management i would like to be
involved in the activity.whre can i get
application form so that i can perticipate in
2009 census

am an IT student and would like to put my skill
into practice as my input to national building and patriotism

am simiyu geoffrey from makerere university idid bsc of science in popution studies and am very well infoformed in census in any field for any vacancy inform me on my contact phone number 0726659432/071659755.thanks

Am a mku student taking banking & finance,advance certificate in microfinance and. C. P. A. I would like to know how to apply for this job.

Am a mt. Kenya student taking Dip in banking & finance, Advanced cert in microfinance and a private student CPA. I would request the KNBS to consinder the student in forthcoming exercise of pplation so that they can gain experience in the work they have gained research since most courses have research project as a unit. Contact me through 0722641897 for information concerning this job.

Am a second year at the University Of Nairobi,hailing from Rongo district and would like to be involved in the census process.pleas notify me on what to do

I recently completed my B.A program in development communication at the University of Nairobi.I have excellent research skills and i would like to put them in use during this year’s census.i kindly i will appreciate any information offered on how i can apply.
Thank you for your concideration.
Tel-0727 896702

I wanna take part in the census!

PLEASE HELP US TO KNOW HOW TO APLLY

iam an engineering student @moi uni.in line to the pa serving the nation how can i participate in his year census?pliz help.

I am a Kenyan lady with IT skills and would like to to participate in this years census. Kindly send me more information on where to apply and what is required.

Thanks to the government of Kenya for proceeding with the plans for census this year despite displacements. I would like to take part in the process, would you kindly let me know how to apply and what is needed.

Hellow,please inform me on when the 2009 Census recruitment excercise will start so that I submit my application letter.

Am Stanley Wangui a student at KIMATHI UNIVERS
ISTY taking Dip in Electrical (Power)
Engineering.Advice on how to apply for census

Am a university student and would like to partake in the comming census..how can i be actively involved

Am a 1st year student in urban & regional planning derpartment University of Nairobi.Am interested in participating in census process

My names are sheila anyango (20 years old),i live in mombasa and currently not working. i would wish to take part in this year’s census. kindly inform me on how to apply and what are the necesary requirements.(you can reach me 0728013964 OR pearlshila@yahoo.com)I would really appreciate your assistance as am looking foward to this job.Thanks in advance.

I student at united states international university how can be involved in this census?

I think the youth should given the first priority

Hi im carol from catholic university. I hav skills in demography ,research methods and i believe my social work skills will enable me to reach people and gather information in a proffesional manner. My email add is carohdoh@yahoo.co.uk

Am a 1st year student at PUC from kwale district and would like to get information on how to get involved in the census i can be contacted on 0727329424 or email at sirlim@mygamma.com

My names are Mkala Evans Aika, am 25 year old and living in mombasa.Am currently unemployed and looking forward to participate in this year’s census,you can get it touch with me through(0729826570 OR veracruz23nd@yahoo.com). Waiting to hear from you soon.

Am Lucy Shatimba Odemo and located in kapsabet,am 36 years .I would like to be involved in this year’s census, please get in touch with me through(0720110364 or lucyshatimba@yahoo.com)

I am doing secretarial course but for now i work at District Development Office at Garissa as a casual. I believe my skill can help in the forthcoming sunsus. How can i be involved.
my ID No. 24442060
Tel. No. 0729690057
Box No. is 86-70100, Garissa.

we appreciate the efforts of all those who participated in the preparation of this page. we look forward to seeing the participation of able-youths who have not had a chance to participate before in the exercise through engagement of the related people in charge. regards,

how can one apply for the sensus

I am a 24 years old finalist student from
JKUAT persuing a Bsc. Mathematics(Statistics) and Computer
scince.I would like to integrate my acquired
skills together others in the coming population
census.Please help me with the application follow up
.

I hereby present my application to you for the upcoming census exercise . am a finalist in kumi university ibn Uganda BBA marketing option

YOU ARE DOING A GREAT JOB. THIS WILL ENABLE THE GOVERNMENT TO PLAN WELL. I WOULD LIKE TO PARTICIPATE IN CENSUS OF 2009 AND I DON’T KNOW WHERE TO APPLY. PLEASE HELP ME.

I THINK JOBLESS PEOPLE SHOULD BE GIVEN FIRST PRIORITY IN CENSUS 2009.THAT IS WHEN WE WILL HAVE A JUST SOCIETY. THIS HABIT OF PEOPLE LEAVING THEIR JOBS AND COMING TO QUE WITH JOBLESS PEOPLE IT IS VERY PREMITIVE AND SELFISH.IT HIGH TIME TO CHANGE PLEASE.

Am college student here in nairobi and wishes to take part in the upcoming census.Advice me on where to apply please

I THINK AM CAPABLE OF BEING AN ENUMARATOR

i am a student of applied statistics with computing in moi university,i appreciate the cencus exercise that is in plan.please look forward to our assistance during cencus since we have the skills.thanking you in advance for your consideration.

I am a finalist in Moi university taking applied statistics with computing.I’m looking forward to be interviewed as an enumerator, since thats my field and proffessinal part of what am learning.

Based on the previous cencus data, cases of
registering gost or inexisting families has been
reported in some parts of the country.What steps
or are in place for the cencus 2009 taking to see to it that this does not hapen.

can i still apply for the census job in nairobi?am a university student

Would wish to be updated on the current issues concerning population census

Can i stil apply for a job in census in nairobi? Am a university student.

I am a kenyatta university student currently based in nairobi, kahawa estate. I am a 2nd year commerce student opting to take marketing option. I would like to apply to join in the census countdown as i believe am qualified and also due to my current financial state.

Can i stil apply the census job in nairobi?

I am a finalist in Moi university .I’m looking forward to be interviewed as an enumerator

Hi. Am francis loli, Moi university student and w’d realy like to participate in the census as a supervisor. I hail in west pokot and il be more than glad if u granted me this chance. I can be reached via 0721463013 thank you.

WE DID THE INTERVIEWS AS ENUMERATORS AND WE ARE EXPECTING A CORRUPTION FREE PROCESS FROM INTERVIEWERS

awaiting calls from them,we hope they’ll select the best for best results!

i think university students should be given first priorities since we said we ought to have them be independent and this will help them a step forward by serving the nat5ion

The Kenya we want should be a corrupton free zone. We have heard cases of corruption in the previous exercisesand we hope this year is going to be an exception. Let there be transparency in giving Kenyans opportunity to participate in the data collection. In other words the first priority should be given to Universty students to exercise there potentials. Am a student at the UoN-0728017195

The Kenya we want should be a corrupton free zone. We have heard cases of corruption in the previous exercises and we hope this year is going to be an exception. Let ther be transparency in giving Kenyans opportunity to participate in the data collection. In other words the first priority should be given to Universty students to exercise there potentials. Am a student at the UoN-0728017195

I applied for cencus supervisors’ post, called for interview but now mombasa district has not release the result. dont be affraid jst communicate the people who have succed, so that we dont expect alot.

W TOOK PART IN THE CENSUS INTERVIEW THINKING IT OULD
WOULD BE FAIR AND CORRUPT FREE ONLY TO REALIZE WE
WE WERE MISTAKEN AS CORRUPTION WAS THE T5HEORDER
OF THE DAY.THEY ALSO EXCLUDED COLLEGE AND VARSITY STUDENTS

The lesson learnt in the recrutment of personnel in
to take part in 24 August housing and population is that we have entirely lost the fight aganist graft.also,its apity that we are talking about about vision 2030 while we emrace and love corruption.when OBAMA talked about his brother in kenya not able to secure employment coz he cannot afford to bribe,we thuoght this wa a joke,BUT in kenya its aplace whw aplace where u get a job not simply out our qualifications but simply on the matter of size of our bribe.THOSE INVOLVED SHOULD GIVE AS ANSWERS,r we in line with our vision 2030 or we are simply drifting away from it

In my District, Laikipia East selection of enumerators was done fairly. Kudos to the District Census committee it is very much unlike the electoral commission of Kenya.

Thankful the interview excercise was corruption free in migwani division,mwingi district. Only that an error occured where my names appeared in two villages and yet l applied for one. Now the villagers where l don’t come from are threatening to slaughter me should l step there. How is my security guaranteed in such a case,please help provide me with security.

I am a Kenyan. My family of 4 and myself are currently in London. Please advise how do we get ourselves counted in the census?
Do we contact the Kenya High Commission here?
Can we submit our data on line to KN Cnensus Bureau?
Awaiting your reply

it is good but it is slow
the tribal part is very extremely bad

my the please help provide kenya with security.

what are the importance of census?
secondly, sources of information data?

i have been counted,ninatambulike!

This time’s exercise was carried out in an unpleasant manner.All the same,process the data and let kenyans know how many hey are.Do not give tribal reports.

When will data entry process for the just concluded census commence and how does one interested in participating in the process tender his application? Please do expand on include the deadline for such applications as well as any other vital information regarding the same.

After the census,I propose that the government should put a lot of emphasis on areas of weakness.

After doing a good job in enumerating kenyan still cent of our names l keep on checking by account balance and no money credited. When are we going to get our pay plz?

am a s13 in Egerton UNI,when r u paying 4 my
services.

When are census officials payments made.How will payments be effected?is it taxable?thx

I am a biotechnology student in the kenyatta university 3rd year.my question is,,,,when are we…the enumerators going to be payed 4 the tidious work we did during the census?????????

when will u pay us

when are you going to pay elders their money or you could have told us we were volunteering the job we did for you 2 months down the line and not even a sign we were going to be paid all of you are hungry bastards.

an unumerator not yet paid????????? need my pay……. pls appreciate the good job i did.

i worked in siaya district as an enumerator under aringo DSO and i am not yet paid upto date. please effect my dues before it is late as we did not agree that the payment should delay as it has happened hitherto. i am yet to take the matter to court and parliament to ensure that i am paid.

IAM AMBROSE KIPYEGO TUYGONG,ONE OF THE ENUMERATOR DURING CENSUS,I WILL NOT MAKE ANY COMMENT SINCE THEN AM NOT BEEN PAID MY DUES YET, TO BEST OF MY ABILITY I WORK HARD TO PRODUCE THE REQUIRED RESUITS.PLEASE IF POSSIBLE DO ASSSIST IN PAYMENT DUE TO THE CRISIS AM FACING OF BEING A STUDENT AT ELDORET POLYTECHNIC NOT PAID FEES.MY ACCOUNT(KENYA COMMERCIAL BANK,ACC NO 1117218422 KAPSABET BRANCH) ID.NO 26412935.ENUMERATOR KIBABET LOCATION,LESSOS DIVISION,NANDI SOUTH DISTRICT.

I hope that Kenyans will learn from this catastroph
roph and will start treating each other like
brothers and start appreciating life

WE NEED TO GET A PDF FORMAT OF CENSUS2009 REPORT ONLINE

hi i am edwin kiprono chepkwony i humbly request to be informed on the requirements so as to be involved in the exercise.posting from kericho


Where's The Comment Form?

    About

    A blog created to cover environmental and political information in Kenya with a view to promoting POVERTY ALLEVIATION through creating awareness of the Millennium Development Goals

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

